It was an interesting weekend, starting with a mad Test day on the Friday in which there was a large amount of carnage, including a 69mph coming together between myself and David Russell.... which could have ended a whole lot worse.

Qualifying was the first time i got back in the car after the crash, and i managed to pull a 7th position on the Grid for the start of the race.

The race itself was not quite to plan, my start was better
than at Donnington, but a dodgy gear change on the first lap which meant I couldn’t get up to 4th gear coming out of Graham Hill bend cost me 3 places. 

The next 8 laps involved fighting in a pack of 5 cars, Brian Caudwell, Tony Mingoia, Jason Gale, myself and Tor Mcilroy all fighting for position, I felt I was faster than the three in front of my, but could not find a way past them on the tight short circuit that is Brands Hatch (Indy). 

Unfortunately we lost Tor on about lap 9, when his inertia switch stopped his engine and put him out of the race.

Lap ten saw me take Jason coming out of druid's, but the yellows for Tor's car meant that I lifted and Jason took two places (as he had not seen the yellows).

We then battled very closely for the rest of the race, and the last second saw Jason pip Tony to the line taking 7th place from him.

if you want to see the race have a look at my race page which has my in car video on it. As well as the crash that happened on the Friday (click here for race page).




Leave a Reply.